Somewhere in my Car

Every family has that one thing that distinguishes it from others whether it be they have certain traditions, a family business, the same establishment name on their diploma, family recipes, etc. Well, for my family, it is all about cars. My father is one of seven kids and all but two of his siblings owned Ford Mustangs. It is the car of choice for our family. One of my uncles (Edie’s dad) currently has three: a flawless 1968 GT in a beautiful baby blue, a 2006 in cherry red, and a 2013 in a blinding white. He even enters them in shows and contests. And wins! My dad had a white 1986, but it’s been long gone. But any of my uncles–and my aunt–can talk your ear off about cars.

Today there was a car show in Burbank, where I live, and Edie and her family always attend. The last two years, I’ve gone to hang out with Edie and shop a little bit because the show takes place on the street in downtown that is sometimes called “the strip.” Of course, I love to look at cars, too; I AM a Lefevre. There’s also cute guys that walk around. Cars and cute boys are probably my biggest weakness.

IMG_6659

There are quite a few police officers walking up and down the streets to make sure nothing too rowdy happened or anything got out of hand, stopping traffic that signs and cones couldn’t, etc. One of these cops was, no surprise, VERY cute. Edie and I kept seeing him around the street and again in Starbucks, and it was hard not to look at him.

IMG_9458

IMG_9458

He looks a little bit like a slightly older version of the twins from Teen Wolf (the one on MTV) if you watch that show. Regardless, there were many cute boys that distracted us from the beautiful, well-preserved classics that lined  San Fernando.

Despite knowing a butt-load of people in Burbank, I only saw two girls I knew. They are going to be juniors and were in my choir this past year. They were shocked at how different I looked. Honestly, I think the only thing that has changed about me is my hair, as it was six or seven inches shorter than it was when summer started. But, no, that wasn’t it. They both told me I looked very skinny and asked if I lost a lot of weight. In all honestly, I haven’t really since the end of school. I lost weight during the year, but not recently. I awkwardly thanked them–because how do you respond to “You look really skinny!”? I mean, I’m glad because that’s a good thing–not that I thought I was ever fat–but those kinds of conversations are always weird. I do not like having them or telling people they look skinny. There’s certain factors that go towards people losing weight, and not all of them are good. Eating and weight disorders are very touchy subjects. But I won’t talk about that right now.

Let’s get back to the car show.

IMG_6886

This Mustang has a bunch of additions to both the exterior and the engine. Everything was done using materials that would be used decades ago for classic cars. That means no fiberglass or any of that. Quite a few additions were made to the engine for horsepower and efficiency as well. While I like looking at cars and whatnot, I am not the expert about the mechanics, so most of that was like a foreign language to me.

Herbie was also there! I love that little VW Bug so much. 🙂 I highly recommend seeing the movies–the originals like The Love Bug, not the Lindsey Lohan one–even though I am a fan. A classic car from a classic movie made the day much better.

IMG_3340

One of the most famous people in America is often seen driving around Burbank in one of his many collector cars. You probably saw him all those years hosting The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. You got it! The man is Jay Leno. I have probably seen him a dozen times in the last few years. He is a really cool guy.

IMG_9997

Usually, I wouldn’t think twice about seeing him, but there was a crowd so Edie and I decided to get close and see if we could take a picture with him. In my eighteen years of living in this town, I never have actually met him. Grace has, though; she and her dad went to his last show. Her dad is an actor (his name is Daniel Roebuck, just click here to see his IMDB page) and played Jay in a movie called The Late Shift. Still, it is a bit of a rush seeing him around.

IMG_4697

After Edie and I took our pictures (he was very cool about the whole thing), we walked around some more. As much as I need to leave Burbank, I do love it. Specifically this street. The biggest AMC in town is here and there are a bunch of restaurants and coffee shops; it is a great place to hang out no matter what day of the week. And the street runs right into the mall. You can’t go there without seeing at least one person you know, which can be a good or a bad thing, I’ve learned.

At the end of the road –right where it runs into the mall–there was a big carpet with three cars, all Fords: a Fusion, F150, and Mustang. A woman asked if she could take a picture sitting in the car, and was given a yes. I knew I just HAD to sit in the driver’s seat of that beautiful Mustang. There were also computers where you could enter to win a brand new 2015 Mustang. I raced to them because that would be just fantastic to have. I needed to at least try!

IMG_2642

After I took the picture, I had to return home to go to a birthday dinner for my little sister. We ate at a restaurant called Claim Jumper, which is my favorite; the food is always delicious! I usually order a Widow Maker Burger (avocado, bacon, cheese, YUM), but this time I stuck with a chicken caesar salad. There would be a free dessert, so I didn’t want to fill up. Sure enough, our waitress brought a slightly larger-than-normal red velvet cupcake topped with a swirl of cream cheese frosting. My sister does not like red velvet, so she let me share it with my parents. I took the first bite and I can honestly tell you it was the best red velvet anything I had ever tasted. It was gooey and moist and warm and soft and…..I can’t even find good enough words to explain it. I wish I had a picture of it!

I jokingly asked for the recipe and the waitress said I would probably find it here (but I haven’t looked yet). It would be perfect dessert to make for my roommates and friends in college. I want everyone to know how good it tastes. Now that I’m thinking about it again, I want to run back and get another! I seriously fell in love.

Maybe it’s just because I am a dessert person; I mean, my mother does bake about as much as she breathes. The brownies I made last night were so good because I asked her for her input on how she makes them so flawlessly.

I think I am going to go eat another right now!

Also, I must go pack for my sleepover with Edie and Grace tonight. They are currently having dinner in Huntington because Dan’s friends were doing a show/concert in Coasta Mesa this evening.

I hope you all had as lovely a day as I did! -A

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

