Don’t Stop Believing

This weekend, my best friend came to visit me! That’s right: Ashley and Natalie were reunited again. It’s why I didn’t get to post yesterday and why I’m so late with my post today. I was busy having too much fun to write for you…and to do the workouts I said I’d be dedicated to. Oh, well! I’ll do it today.

On Friday, work was stressful, per the usual, but as soon as I got home, Natalie was waiting on my front porch for me. It was great to catch up with her, even though we see each other much more frequently than in past years. She can always make me crack up until I cry.

We went to a family friend’s house for dinner and did a usual walk to Starbucks from his house. It’s always a fun time when I get to see the two little twin boys. As much as work makes me question my love of children, I adore those nine year-olds. The entire time I was there, I was snapchatting and texting a certain boy I met at college orientation. No comment about anything further…yet.

Saturday was a busy day! Natalie and I woke up at noon–I haven’t slept in that late in a really long time and I can honestly say I needed it. We walked to the Doughnut Hut near my house and each bought three. I know, I’m crazy! What was I thinking buying three whole donuts? I just ate one, and then I saved the other two for later. However, I still have one left! The ones I bought were: a maple bar (my absolute favorite), a regular one with strawberry frosting and sprinkles, and a crumb donut. I ate the crumb one that morning and the strawberry frosted one later that evening.

IMG_2367

It was magically delicious!

Then my mother took us to Ralph’s so we could buy purple and pink kool-aid. But it was not to drink, it was to dye our hair! Natalie did purple (grape flavor) and I used pink (strawberry), even though it turned out so bright that it looks slightly red.

Here’s how we did it:

  1. Put two packets into a coffee mug. I suggest using one with a dark color on the inside so it doesn’t stain.
  2. Fill up the mug with hot water. I have a tap for it, but you can just use regular water and then heat it up in the microwave.
  3. Put selected portion of hair into the mug and let sit for at least six minutes. If you have dark hair, leave it for longer or repeat this step multiple times.
  4. When finished, dab dry with a paper towel so it stops dripping and wrap in foil for about ten minutes.
  5. Take hair out of foil and blow dry. I advise you to wrap a towel around your shoulders as to not get the kool-aid on your clothes and whatnot.

Note: If the kool-aid does happen to drip onto clothes, don’t stress out too much. It should come out easily with one wash.

I love doing this, rather than actually dying my hair because it is not damaging. It also washes out fairly easily. The first time you shower it will drip a lot, depending on how thoroughly you wash, but after that don’t worry about it.

Later that day, Edie came over and we (plus my dad) headed over to the Starlight Bowl for a concert by Tom Petty and Journey tribute bands. The main performers were DSB, which stands for “Don’t Stop Believing,” and their openers were The Petty Breakers

IMG_7096

This is the view from our box seats!!

It was a pretty fantastic performance! I love going to concerts here because I love the feel of the outdoor venue and I always see people I know. It’s like a huge party! Everyone gets up and dances. This show didn’t sell out completely–other than the grass seats behind us–but there was still so much energy. The one concert that never fails to sell out is The Fab Four, which is the Beatles tribute band. This was the first year I missed their performance, as it was earlier in the summer than usual. Now they are really something to watch. If they every do a concert near you, I highly recommend it if you are, in any way, a Beatles fan.

IMG_6732

This was my outfit for the evening 🙂

I may have gotten two bug bites before I even found my seat, but I loved this concert. They closed with “Don’t Stop Believing,” which I absolutely love, but who doesn’t? They also sang “Faithfully,” which will gives me goosebumps no matter how many times I hear it.

IMG_0467

DSB was totally kicking butt!

Grace was supposed to come with us, too, but she got invited last minute to see Beyonce at the Rose Bowl. Nobody blamed her for taking an opportunity like that over this one; DSB would be back next summer.

Edie, Natalie, and I missed her, but we had a great time! Since I have been losing my voice over the course of the last few weeks because of disobeying kids, I found it hard to sing along to the songs. However, as they closed with “Don’t Stop Believing,” I found myself screaming the lyrics and dancing along, my voice growing more and more hoarse.

IMG_5923

From left to right: Edie, me, Natalie. Thank you, Dad, for taking this pic!

It was such a fun day! I couldn’t have asked for better.

That night, we watched one of my favorite movies: Charlie St. Cloud. It gives me so many feelings! I laugh, I cry, I fangirl over Zac Efron, I fall in love, I hurt. So many emotions! It is definitely one of Zac Efron’s best; this and The Lucky One, based on the book by Nicholas Sparks. The thing about Charlie St. Cloud is that you get all the emotions and whatnot out of it, without the ending that makes you cry until your eyes fall out, like a Nicholas Sparks book-turned-movie.

After that wonderful day, there had to be a downside, didn’t there? In fact, there was. This morning, I was woken up by my best friend telling me she got sick. I was heartbroken. I hate when people get sick because I despise feeling sick. It’s so miserable. Her mother came and picked her up around 7:15. I was upset she had to leave, but it is always better to have your family around when you are ill. As close as we are, we are not blood, and that does make a difference sometimes. I am not her mom, which is what she needed.

I ended up going back to sleep and waking up around 11. I texted Natalie to make sure she was okay. She told me that as soon as she got home, she took some medicine and was feeling much better. Hearing that made me happy. I will hopefully see her for my birthday in a few weeks, so that will be nice.

Edie also left around noon, so now I am just chilling out and relaxing with my parents. My grandpa and some family friends are coming over for dinner tonight, which will be fun. We are getting Paquito Mas, which I love. They have awesome enchiladas!

Hmm…maybe I should go work out now so I can pig out later. It is a possibility. I hope you are all having as wonderful a weekend as I am! Here’s one more picture so you can see my pink hair a little better:

IMG_7917

XOXO -A

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

