When You Wish Upon A Star

I don’t know if I have mentioned this before, but I am a very big Disney fan. I will probably tell you at least twenty thousand more times before the year is over. I love Walt Disney. I love Disneyland. I love Disney World. It is a part of my childhood, and that love will live inside me for the rest of my life.

When I heard the rumor that Grad Nite was going to be at Six Flags, I was ready to protest. It may be for “children” but I do think that Disneyland is the happiest place on earth. But maybe that is because roller coasters make me sick and I am a kid at heart. Regardless, Disney is a part of me that has helped me become the person I am today. And Walt Disney was a genius, and oh, what I would do if I could have met him before he died.

So thank you, Walt, for giving me my childhood. You are the man.

IMG_2093

Because of my love of Disney, I want to give you a list of my Top Ten Favorite Animated Disney Characters and Why.

10. Olaf

As much as I am all about the classics of Disney, I did really love Olaf in Frozen. He was funny and had the best one-liners. “Oh, look at that: I’ve been impaled.” That one was probably my favorite. He also genuinely cares about the other characters and does everything he can to save Anna so she can save Elsa. And he is a snowman, and how can you not love one of those? From Frosty to Jack Frost, Olaf really did a wonderful job filling his big shoes.

9. Mater

“Like tuh-mater? But without the tuh.” Mater has one of the biggest hearts Pixar has ever created. He doesn’t stop pursuing his friendship with Lightening McQueen. His compassion and friendliness are the reason everyone loves him so much; at least, that’s how I feel. I have a hard time thinking anyone could not like his character. He may not be the brightest bulb in the tanning bed, but he sure is funny!

8. Vanellope

Wreck it Ralph is one of those movies that makes me crave sugar like no other, and Vanellope is one of those characters that I have fallen in love with. At first, I didn’t like her so much, and I thought she was a little on the annoying side, but I realized something after seeing the movie a second time. The little girl has a disability, and that makes her different to everyone else. None of the other characters in the Sugar Rush game accept her, and she’s upset by this; however, she realizes that her glitch isn’t a flaw, but a trait that makes her unique and lovable. She accepts herself, glitch and all, and once she does this, the rest of the kingdom follows suit.

7. Dot

I’ve always loved Dot a little more than the rest of the A Bug’s Life characters because she is smaller and has to prove herself. I can relate to her in this way. I am still trying to prove myself and I am still smaller than the average nineteen year-old. Dot is adorable and independent and I have been able to learn a lot from her over the years as I have re-watched the movie. One day I will learn to fly.

6. Jacques and Gus

These two mice are the best of friends and they will do anything to help Cinderella. They also have the greatest time doing it. I love when they get the better of Lucifer. He’s the reason I’m not a cat person, to be honest. I’m not super fond of mice either, but these two are the exception. I love them and their cute little voices.

5. Jessie

Let’s be honest, who doesn’t love Toy Story? It truly is one of the best Disney movies ever made. While the sequel isn’t as perfect as the first, Jessie is one of those characters that stuck with me. I love her story and the way she’s overcome her loss. She is afraid to give Andy a chance, but Woody helps her overcome it. I can also relate to Jessie because she’s afraid to give someone else a shot to love her. I have trouble letting people into my life, but she inspires me to give them a chance.

4. Tinkerbell

I have always been a fan of the sassy, mischievous fairy that is Tink. None of this new animated stuff, but the original cartoon. Even though I like Wendy, I totally appreciated how protective Tinkerbell was over Peter Pan. In a way, she was like his guardian, even though it typically seems the other way around. She didn’t take crap from anybody, and I think that is a good trait to have. And who doesn’t love having the power to fly? [I would totally put a picture of me as Tinkerbell for Halloween, but it was years ago and I can’t find it. My sincerest apologies.]

These last three are basically all tied for first, but I couldn’t do such things, so these are in no particular order.

3. Minnie Mouse

I adore Minnie Mouse and I always have. She is the queen of Disney, no doubt about it. She’s cute and sassy and is the only girl for Mickey. I wonder what things would be like if I had a Mickey. And even though she wears red and my favorite color is pink, her signature outfit is adorable. And she’s the reason I love to wear bows so much. She’s cute and girly but with an attitude.

2. Cinderella

Cinderella is my all-time favorite princess. I’m not sure why, but for all long as I can remember, she has been my number one choice for princesses. She’s beautiful and gets to wear that gorgeous, poofy dress. And her singing voice is to die for. She works so hard and it all goes unnoticed by her spoiled step-sisters, but all of it pays off because she made it to the ball and met Prince Charming. He fell in love and the rest is history. I love Cinderella and if I was taller, I would audition to play her at Disneyland.

IMG_1741

1. Marie

The Artisotcats is my all-time favorite Disney movie. Ever. Even though I am a dog person (remember when I said I hated Lucifer?), I can’t get enough of this movie. It’s only right that Marie is my favorite of the characters. Like Tink and Minnie, she is super sassy, but she is also prim and proper. She lives the high life and loves it. Since I dream of being high class, I love this about her. She handles her brothers oh-so-well. She is the reason I have attitude and that I know what I want. She’s also boy (cat) crazy, and so am I. I am the way I am because of her.

So there you have it. My top ten. There are obviously so many more characters that I absolutely adore, but these have stuck out to me in certain ways.

Some honorable mentions are: Mike Wazowski, Woody, Buzz, Flick, Terk, Russell, Timone, Pumba, Dumbo, Dopey, Mushu, Genie (RIP Robin Williams ❤ ), Sebastian, Hercules, Fauna, Lumiere, and of course, Mickey Mouse. I love Disney too much, so I’ll stop before I fill up this list with every character.

Disney is the definition of my childhood, and I don’t know what I’d do without it.

6

Thanks again, Walt ❤ -A

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

