#SELFIE

So I’m in my mom’s office again today, just like last Friday. Hey, I’ll take what I can get as long as I’m out of the house. Now usually when I am here, I am blogging about me hating myself for eating or something along those lines. However, I just had a brownie for breakfast and I’m not feeling any regret yet. I don’t want to think about those feelings right now. Instead I want to talk about something many a girl struggles with when it comes to social networks.

Selfies.

Photo on 9-5-14 at 10.17 AMI know, I know. I’m being super serious today. But it’s Friday and I’m happy today. So far, so good. And I might get to go to Hobby Lobby later! One just opened in my town and I have yet to take a gander inside.

You know, if any of my mom’s co-workers saw me writing this post (and taking the selfies to go along with it) they’d think I’m so weird. But most of them have known me my whole life so I guess it’s not a huge problem. And I know a bunch are going to walk by and pick up a brownie. My mom made them as a “Friday pick-me-up” and they are at the desk I am sitting at. I just looked at them and they are already half gone!

So, when you think of the perfect selfie, this

Photo on 9-5-14 at 10.19 AMprobably isn’t it. But that’s okay. I’m just being goofy.

There are a few things that make a perfect selfie:

  1. a smile
  2. the background
  3. a filter
  4. a pose and
  5. a caption

With a smile, you can never go wrong. If you were, to say, pout, you could come off as a b**** or rude or mean. If you are frowning, while it could be artsy, you just look sad. In my opinion, a smile is the best facial expression for a picture. They don’t tell you to “Say cheese” for nothing! When you say the word “cheese,” it is almost impossible not to smile–unless you are really trying.

Photo on 8-18-14 at 9.28 PM #2

 

Look, see? I’m smiling! Especially since I got my braces off, I have been smiling so much more. I love it.

The background is also very important. You wouldn’t want everyone to know you were in a bathroom taking your “perfect” selfie, would you? A toilet is not the accessory you want, I promise. I usually take my selfies in my room or in my living room. In the one right above, I was in my living room and all of my college things are strewn about. Not my best judgment, but I was just bored. Who knew one of the ones I took that evening would be my profile picture for this website? Not me when I took it, that’s for sure.

I can tell you, though, that you are always good with a nice solid color background.

Photo on 7-1-14 at 3.41 PM #2This is the picture I took to submit for my Cal Poly ID. Not exactly a selfie, but I did take it by myself! So I think it counts. My brother just kin of stood there and watched. Thanks for the help, pal.

The filter just might be one of the most important parts of a selfie; and that filter might just be no filter at all! I don’t always like using filter because then it sometimes looks too edited, but I love a good black and white or sepia because…well, I’m not actually sure why. I just always have. It gives it a certain look without changing the image too much.

Photo on 8-14-14 at 11.20 PMI love sepia. How exactly you say that, I’ve never been sure. Is it like “seh-pia” or “see-pia”? Hmmm…I will google it later. Comment if you know for sure!

Your pose is oh so crucial to a selfie. Do you want to throw a peace sign up? What will you do with your hands? How will you tilt your head? What is the angle? These are all questions I ask myself when I take these selfies on my computer. Only two have ever been posted, but that is because I don’t like posting them. Mostly, I take them out of boredom–or because maybe I was subconsciously preparing for this blog post!Photo on 7-5-14 at 11.11 PM #2

I’ve always liked this one (it was my picture for this blog for a while and it’s still on Facebook and Tumblr) because I think I look happy. Truly happy. It’s definitely one of my favorite selfies. This filter is on Photobooth and it’s called “rainbow” and I think it’s as awesome as black and white and sepia, just saying. I wish I could take all my selfies with it sometimes.

And finally, your caption can make or break you. Most people put song lyrics. While I think that is cheesy and cliche, I used the lyrics to “Color” by The Maine for the picture above when I put it on Instagram. So go ahead, put song lyrics. Everyone does it. Or put an inspirational quote. Or just put emojis; you can’t go wrong with that. If you can’t think of anything clever or witty enough, just quote something and you will be fine.

So that’s what I have to say about taking cute, post-able selfies. Selfies with your friends are completely different stories, and so are “boredom selfies.” But those are the most fun to take in my opinion.

Example A: friend selfies (there are so many, I didn’t know which one to choose so here are three)

Photo on 7-30-14 at 11.49 PM Photo on 7-30-14 at 11.50 PM #2 Photo on 7-30-14 at 11.54 PM

 

That last one is one of my favorites, but I can’t get enough of the “chipmunk” effect. It is so much fun! (And that would be the middle one, if you couldn’t guess.)

Example B: boredom selfies

Photo on 8-14-14 at 11.21 PM

Yay for being goofy! I love taking embarrassing pictures like this one. Cherish these ones people because I don’t share them with just anyone.

So thanks for letting me be awkward and weird with you today. I really appreciate it. And I love you guys a lot. If that wasn’t clear, just go look at the last four pictures in this post and that should tell you. Have an absolutely fantastic, wonderful, outstanding Friday! 🙂

-A 

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

