Quarterback

So yesterday was a pretty unproductive day as far as my to do list goes. The only packing I’ve done is a couple of books are now off of my shelf and onto the floor. On the bright side, I went to the bank this morning and cashed in my change. Over $26! And $20 was just in quarters. I also bought/rented my two textbooks yesterday, which is making this a lot more real. I still can’t believe it.

But there was something I did yesterday that was very important. I took two required online training courses; one was about alcohol and the other about sexual assault. While people know about these topics, I don’t think too many people are as educated as they could be about them. I am now very informed about each of these and the dangers they pose and whatnot, and I would like to share what I learned with you.

I’ve always known that alcohol was common in college, especially with parties. Plus, since I am rushing this year, I am at a higher risk of being exposed to it. The thing I didn’t know was that a lot of college students don’t drink, and many of the ones that do try to be safe about it. 38% of college students do not drink and 67% of students reported to have not had a drink within the two weeks before the survey. While 38% isn’t a huge number, it is a lot greater than my guess.

collegeDrinking_FINAL

The course also taught about how to intervene if a situation involving a drunk friend got out of hand: how to respond, how to deal with the situation, how to prevent anything bad from happening, etc. Having a plan was a very important point that was made. You wouldn’t want to get into a car with a drunk or buzzed driver, would you? No, sir. Designate a driver, plan to take a cab, find out about a car service, ask about staying the night.

Time is the only thing that will lower your blood alcohol concentration.

Another thing was recognizing the signs of alcohol poisoning and how to handle it. You cans stop the person from drinking by taking drinks out of their sight or telling them that there is no more left. If they pass out or start vomiting, you shouldn’t put them to bed or leave them. Instead, stay with them and get help. Too much alcohol can kill you, and I don’t think people really understand that.

Sexual assault has always been one of those topics that gets talked about, but nothing ever seems to be done about it. It’s not just rape, but any sort of sexual activity that you do not consent to. Verbally saying “yes” or “no” is the only way to determine if you are okay with what is happening. Giving vague responses won’t help the situation. However, sometimes the assaulter won’t take no for an answer, and that’s when things get worse. Most of the time, the assaulter and the victim are intoxicated, which doesn’t help the situation either.

0Fepucd

Did you know that alcohol is the number one sexual assault drug? Because once alcohol enters your bloodstream, your motor skills, coordination, and judgment are impaired. The attacker will typically try to get their victim drunk so it will be easy to take advantage of them.

The most important thing, which could also be the hardest, is to speak up. If you see the situation turning south, then step in. I know it’s easier said than done, but you are helping someone out and preventing a great deal of trauma. Distract the person intending to get the other drunk, so you can get their mind out of the gutter and onto something else or you can make sure the other person is okay, even offer to take that person home.

tumblr_ll9no2bNih1qj77z0o1_500
I think I am much more educated about these topics after taking these courses, so I would like to thank my school for making them required. Alcohol and sexual assault awareness are so very important, and now I know the facts.

On another note, today I will get something done on my to do list. I’m having lunch with Ally and FaceTiming Stephanie! I’m so excited 🙂 Then I am off to the Apple store to buy a new charger–I know I was supposed to go the other day! It just didn’t fit into my plans at the time.

I hope y’all have a wonderful Wednesday! Now I’m going to pack a couple of things before Ally comes over. And find Pride & Prejudice because there is no way I am leaving for school without it.

Goodbye, my lovelies! -A

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

