No Place I’d Rather Be

I’ve learned a lot in college so far, but not necessarily in class.

There’s this app called “Yik Yak” and it’s like an anonymous twitter. On it, I confessed that the best part about college was “kicking anorexia’s ass.” It was the top yak of the hour and had three very encouraging comments. I was so happy. Let it slip how popular my post been to two guys on my floor. They insisted on knowing what it was, so I finally confessed. Both had seen it, and said they were proud of me. You know, I was pretty proud of me, too. It’s still a struggle every day, but I am getting through it, and that is a good thing. One day at a time.

I am getting better, and I am happy. My smile is real, no more fakes.

IMG_4119Baking too much for my own good? These slutty brownies were something to smile about. They were freaking amazing. Brownies + Oreos + Snickers + Reese’s = a very stuffed but happy Ashley ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4137Me riding a tractor pulling a cart of pumpkins? Pretty exciting even though I wasn’t moving. But maybe that’s because pumpkin patches make me happy.

IMG_4143Picking out baby pumpkins with my new sister Julia? Hell yes. We weren’t even worried about all the hay that was stuck to our butts the second we sat down.

IMG_4151This candid? Yes, that is a total candid of me smiling and laughing. A real smile. A real laugh. Squinty eyes and all.

I don’t quite know what it is that is making me so happy. It could be a new setting. It could be the fact that my sorority is absolutely amazing and filled with wonderful girls I already love. It could be that I have nothing to hide here, that there is nothing to hide from. I have no reason to be anyone other than myself.

And that is fantastically outstanding.

I love the fact that I have already eaten half the loaf of pumpkin bread I got at the pumpkin patch. I love that I can eat all the Ben & Jerry’s I want. I love that I can go get a breakfast burrito until 2 am.And I love that I don’t feel guilty about any of that.

Today is a new day full of new experiences and adventures. I can’t wait to live it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a wonderful Thursday, my lovelies. โค

-A

2 thoughts on “No Place I’d Rather Be

  1. Good for you! I love hearing stories of people beating eating disorders and moving on to be happy and healthy! You are an inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

