Right Now #3

Hello hello hello!

It has been quite a while since my last “Right Now” post and some things have changed since September. Plus, these last few days have been particularly hard as far as my body image goes, and I feel like these questions will help remind me of who I am and why I have chosen this path of life.

Here we goooo!

What am I reading?

Well this is a great question because last night I went to Barnes and Noble with Natalie and bought two new books! I should not have gone in because I knew something like that would happen, but I have no regrets. These books were oh-so-necessary to purchase.

IMG_4406

They are books based on the novels and author Richard Castle of the ah-mazing ABC show Castle. I couldn’t help but dive after them at first glance. I am beginning with Storm Front because that series came first in the show, so it seems only natural. I am so so so excited to read these books; I even started one while I sat at the bus stop. I am such a nerd, it is ridiculous. I just love books!

What TV show am I watching?

I am coming to the end of season four of Lost. It is a very weird show, but I cannot stop watching it! It got really sci-fi this season, which was unexpected, but I am so invested in it that I cannot just stop. It is so good.

Finishing Breaking Bad and Gossip Girl within such a short time was crazy, and I will probably finish Lost pretty soon. But wait…..shouldn’t I be doing homework? The answer is yes. But I do not have that much besides some reading. I do have a speech a week from today and an essay due next Wednesday, though. I have started both, no worries. I am trying my best to not procrastinate. I am a good noodle, I promise!

What color are my nails?

Well, courtesy of my mysterious Big, my nails are now “preppy pink!”

IMG_4409

It is Big/Little week and that means since Monday I have been receiving baskets of goodies from a girl in my sorority. Tomorrow I will find out who she is. I am so excited! But more on that later (because that is foreshadowing something later in this post).

What is my current obsession?

I have been knitting quite a bit recently. I finished a scarf, made a headband, and then another headband (I am making my roomies and me matching ones). I am like a grandma, and I love it. Knitting calms and relaxes me; it is a great stress reliever. I can also do it without looking, which allows me to multi-task and watch Netflix.

Who is my current girl crush?

I have said her before and I will say her again: I love Leighton Meester. She is absolutely perfect. And she just came out with an album and while I have only listened to parts of some songs, it is great. As I watched the last season of Gossip Girl all I could think was how awesome Blair is. She knew what she wanted and got it done by any means possible. Her scheming was great, even when things didn’t quite turned out as planned. But I don’t just love her as Blair, she is great in other roles I have seen her in as well. She is also beautiful! I just love everything about her.

What am I wearing?

On this fine Thursday morning I am clad in a plain white t-shirt and blue jean shorts, sweet an simple.

IMG_4413

Little do you know I tried on quite a few outfits today because I couldn’t decide on what to wear. I mean, I only have one class today, COMS 101 (aka Public Speaking) but I might be doing things that require me to look semi-cute. I had to prepare in advance.

What is something this week that I am looking forward to?

Big/Little reveal tomorrow, of course!! For those of you that do not know, a Big is like a big sister, mentor, and best friend. She is an active rather than a new member who is like a guide throughout your time in your sorority. A Big can be a second, third, or fourth year (or fifth; thanks to five year majors!).

IMG_4386

All week I have been getting baskets addressed to me with AOII t-shirts, candy, baked goods, picture frames, letters, lotions, and other fun things. I am so excited to see who my Big is! I love this mysterious girl so much already. She has left me three hints each day, but I cannot figure out who it could be. I have ideas, but nothing solid whatsoever. I just can’t wait until tomorrow when I finally get to know who she is. I want to meet my Big and I want to be a perfect Little 🙂

What am I listening to?

I cannot stop listening to Taylor Swift’s new album 1989. I AM IN LOVE. Like, I wasn’t sure how I would take her official transition into pop, but I love every song. One of my neighbors went into town to Target so he could buy the deluxe edition, so I gave him money to buy me one, too. Since it came out, I have not stopped listening to it.

My top three favorite songs, in no particular order, are: “Blank Space,” “Wildest Dreams,” and “New Romantics.” But I like all of them. I also got thirteen polaroids in the deluxe edition and they have song lyric captions. I am absolutely obsessed.

Along with that, I have also been listening to Ed Sheeran’s album X, which is oh-so-heavenly. I am addicted to both of those albums. Ed Sheeran and Taylor Swift are also fantastic songwriters, and as a songwriter (not so much anymore) myself, I really admire them and am inspired by them.

What make-up am I wearing?

Per the usual, I am wearing mascara and foundation and now eyeliner, but I have a new mascara! I just wanted to try something new and ended up really liking this one. I will probably go back to Covergirl soon, but this one is nice and it works really well.

IMG_4412

I do wear a little bit of top liner most days now, just to highlight my eyes. It’s not an everyday thing, but I like it. Putting on more make-up than this is usually a hassle, but I will add eyeshadow if I go out on weekends, just to spice things up.

What is a bad habit I need to kick?

The best answer to this question is: procrastinating on schoolwork. I do not have very much to begin with, mostly just reading, but I never have the motivation to do it. I try to start my speeches early, though. I think about them ahead of time, but I don’t actually write any of it down or make notes until a few days before. I also have an essay due next week (as I mentioned before), which I have started–kind of. I just need to work on my thesis; that is always my problem.

Maybe I should stop blogging and spend more time on my schoolwork….naaaahh.

What is one thing I am really happy about?

I am happy about a lot of things lately. I love my sorority sisters. I love my roommates. I love my neighbors. But you already knew that. I am just so happy here. I am glad that I do not miss home because this is my new home. Burbank was holding me back from this person that I am, this person that I love being. When my parents came for Family Weekend, my dad told me that someone said to him that I was really adjusting well to college. All I could think was “Hell, yeah, I am!”

I am happy that I am finally happy.

So there you have it, November Ashley. Bring on this month, bring on the rest of this quarter, bring on my speech and essay! If you ever want to know what I am up to besides what’s on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter (@AshleyLaflaver) or Instagram (@31laflavers). Yes, I just shamelessly promoted myself.

Now here is a photo of a post-it note I saw in the girls’ bathroom at the library last weekend feat. green and gold headband I knitted.

IMG_4383

Have an absolutely wonderful Thursday, my lovelies ❤

-A

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

