So This is Love

I would just like to start off by saying that I absolutely adore my school and the people I’ve met there. I love my roommates more than I can put into words, and my friends are the most amazing people on the planet. I am beyond grateful for everything about them.

I say this because I am now at “home” in Burbank, and all I want to do is go back to SLO. As soon as I got home, it was like I was trapped. I feel like I am suffocating under this roof. Family isn’t supposed to make you feel like this, right? It’s my mother. She is still treating me like she owns me. While I love her and am so thankful for everything she has done for me (especially paying for college), she doesn’t get to control me anymore. I sat and cried in my bathroom my first night back because a person shouldn’t dread coming home as much as I do. I am trying to think of a stronger word than “dread.”

But that is another rant for another day. This post is about the wonderful day of December 14th, 2014–aka, Natalie’s eighteenth birthday. She, our other roomies, half of apartment 207, and I spent the day at the happiest place on earth. No, I don’t mean SLO, I mean Disneyland. It was a fantastic day, to say the least.

IMG_4684The day was spent laughing–and crying from said laughter–walking until our feet fell off, strategizing the most productive day, making more jokes (mostly inappropriate) than I can count, and taking the cutest pictures ever. I seriously can’t get enough of these people.

10479500_892934270725205_3247714356566756044_oAdam is the dad of 207. I am Mama Bear of 209 (and the rest of the floor, including 207). It’s only necessary that he is one of my best friends. He’s a good guy. Like, if there was an award given out for the Best Guy Friend Ever On Earth, he would win it, hands down. He’s also the most photogenic person on the planet; it just isn’t fair, really.

IMG_4687It was also Alice’s very first Disneyland trip! I mean, she’s been to the one in France, but not the original in good ol’ Southern California. Needless to say she had a great time. She also brought her fancy camera and got some awesome pictures of all of us. We look cuter when we have her to direct us based on lighting and whatnot. This one, though, was not one of those lucky ones. And still, Adam looks like a model. Honestly, it’s unfair.

10873514_892933680725264_3770133295856899422_oThese are actually my some of my favorite people on the planet. I cannot say enough how thankful I am to have met them. I am so lucky to have these people in my life that accept my crazy and are just as wild right back. They love my corny jokes and tell ones that are just as bad. They make me laugh like I have never laughed before, and that is something I never thought I would have. I didn’t think it was possible for me to laugh like that anymore.

IMG_4723The fact that I had the idea to take this picture and they all voiced it without me having to is enough to say they are all my soulmates, but in a friend/family way. I couldn’t ask for better people to have in my life.

10873432_892933510725281_7488108173371813711_oThen we have the three girls that are my life. Alice, Vanessa, and Natalie. I cannot describe how much of an impact they have had on me. I mean, Natalie has been my best friend for years, but I have such a strong connection with Alice and Vanessa. I adore all of them more than I can say, more than there are words in the universe. I truly am one of the luckiest people on the planet. To have been so lost in this world and then to have been found by these amazing people is the best thing I could have ever asked for.

All I’ve ever wanted is acceptance and to be loved by those I care about. These girls have given me that without question and without hesitation. Adam and Kyle, too. I wouldn’t have wanted to spend the day with anyone other than these five people. What they have given me is better than any gift I could ever received. And I mean that. The love that I feel is better than I could have ever imagined. This happiness more than I could have ever hoped for. These people and these experiences are priceless.

Choosing Cal Poly is the best decision I have ever made because of everything that happened this first quarter. The thing my mom has done that I am most grateful for is forcing me to apply and then dragging me on a tour. I fall in love with Cal Poly and San Luis Obispo more and more every day that I am there. I miss it so much. I miss my roomies and my friends. I miss my sorority sisters. I miss late night donut runs. I miss everything. I can’t wait to go back for winter quarter.

The love never stops when I am with these people.

I hope that all of you feel or will feel this way about your life. Kyle and Adam were the first people to know about my eating disorder, and they completely accept me. Vanessa has been through a depression like mine, and we have bonded on new level because of it. There is no lack of love with these unbelievably wonderful human beings. I am thankful for them every day of my life.

Today I say goodbye to Natalie until December 26th. I will be roomie-less until then. Luckily I have Noah and Gaby, Edie and Gracie, and Stephanie and Ally to keep me sane. My home trios are kind of the bomb, too. And I think I am rekindling old friendships, which could be a good thing. Happiness does something amazing to you, I swear.

And now I am off to make the best of today! Y’all should do the same, but thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my ramblings.

So much love, A

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

