This is Country Music

All aboard the struggle bus today, man.

Class, studying for midterms, finding a ride to Disneyland this weekend (and back), panicking because I can’t be in two places at once on Friday, writing next week’s PLR, not having any real meal food. The list goes on.

Wow, Week 4 and I am already dying.

However, the stress in muted right now because, as I write this, I am sitting in the courtyard (atrium?) of the library and it is beautiful. I keep looking at a very interesting statue, though. I can’t quite explain it, so here is picture proof.

IMG_5455

At least I have gotten my coffee today. I am totally becoming addicted, if I wasn’t before. Every day at about 11:40, you can find me in the UU Starbucks line, waiting to order my grande iced coffee with two pumps of vanilla. Yup, now I get a grande instead of a tall. Coffee is love. Coffee is life.

So here’s what’s going on: the other night was the Academy of Country Music Awards, one of the biggest nights in country. Also one of my favorite nights. Now, I did not get to watch it due to a Chapter Meeting, but I did see clips and hear about the results. Here is my feedback on some of the awards.

Top Vocal Group – Little Big Town

I love Little Big Town, and I think they are a talented bunch of people; however, they have never been my favorite. Their songs are catchy, and I really enjoy listening to them, but I will forever and always be a Lady Antebellum fan. They were my first real concert. Nevertheless, congratulations to Little Big Town! They have had a great year.

Top Male Vocalist – Jason Aldean

I think Jason Aldean is a great musician. He has a great voice and songs that I can sing along and dance around to. I went to one of his concerts a few years back, and I had a blast! He has had quite a few awesome singles recently–“Burnin’ it Down” gets me grooving. While the whole mistress thing still makes me uneasy, it was a well-deserved win by Aldean.

Top Female Vocalist – Miranda Lambert

Do I even need to say anything? Miranda Lambert is one of the greatest female artists around these days. I love her music, I love her style, I love her personality. Plus, her duet with Carrie Underwood, “Somethin’ Bad,” still gets my feet tapping. I have been waiting for that collaboration forever.

Video of the Year – “Drunk on a Plane” Dierks Bentley

I have loved Dierks for as long as I can remember. He has a wonderful voice and extremely catchy songs. The first time I ever attended the Academy of Country Music Awards, when they were in Las Vegas, he held a concert by the pool the night before the show. I didn’t have tickets, but I could watch from my hotel room window and hear the whole thing fairly clearly. Definitely one of my favorite nights! And “Drunk on a Plane” is one of my favorite songs, too, and the video was great! I laugh and sing along  every time I watch it.

Haven’t seen it? Check it out!

Album of the Year – “platinum” Miranda Lambert

Once again, a well-deserved win! While I have not heard every song on this album, from the ones I have heard, this is a great album. “Little Red Wagon” is one of my favorites! She performed it at the Country Music Fest in Nashville this past summer, and it was fantastic. LOVE. THIS. WOMAN.

New Artist of the Year – Cole Swindell

I don’t know what it is about this guy, but I love him. “Chillin’ It” never fails to get stuck in my head. He is adorable and has a wonderful voice. I am pretty proud of this win!

Entertainer of the Year – Luke Bryan

Honestly, I would have been mad if this award went to anyone else. Luke Bryan is one of my favorite male artists, and is actually one of the best entertainers I have ever seen! (Low key, “Spring Breakdown” played on my iTunes as soon as I started this). He is a great performer and ugh those hip thrusts kill me. He has fantastic music, awesome shows, good looks, and just about the cutest sons. He. Is. A. Babe.

Some honorable mentions in my book include: Brad Paisley, Hunter Hayes, Scotty McCreery, Cassadee Pope, Carrie Underwood, and Kacey Musgraves. Couple of great artists there.

I mean, I am no music critic. Have you seen my taste in music? Pop Punk, Alternative Metal, Country, Pop, Rock and Roll…the list goes on. But country has a big piece of my heart and makes me a very happy camper.

I guess that’s it for today! You can look forward to a (lengthy) PLR tomorrow! 🙂

For now, I will leave you with an article about none other then the 2015 Entertainer of the Year!

-A


Love me!

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

