So Not All About that Bass

I think there is a lot of ways to interpret the song “All About that Bass”  by Meghan Trainor. I think the song is catchy and she has a great voice, but that is about as far as my liking goes concerning this song.

I say this because when the song came out, I did not pay much attention to it, and therefore didn’t care much about it other than it’s catchy tune. The more I listened to it, the more I saw that there is a very skewed view of “loving yourself” in its lyrics. I have come across many an argument lately, and I would just like to put in my two cents–because I like my two cents.

The song presents the overall message of “love your body” just the way it is, with lyrics like “Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top.” That is great, right? Right. She is promoting the message that you should love yourself because you are perfect and you do not need to change for anyone. However, the line “Boys like a little more booty to hold at night” kind of disregards that. Boys will like us if we have curves, is basically what she is saying. Well, if we are supposed to love ourselves and not change for anyone, why should it matter what those boys think of us?

Granted, many girls do let what boys think of them get in the way of feeling beautiful just the way they are, but that shouldn’t be how it is. That line of the song is not promoting what the rest of the song is apparently about.

No, Meghan Trainor is no size two or “stick figure, silicone Barbie doll,” but one, size two girls are still awesome and can “shake it, shake it” like they are supposed to do, too, and two, if you have ever heard the rants about Barbie’s proportions, you would know that no girl is a Barbie doll either. Yes, I know it is an expression, but girls who are thin like Barbies shouldn’t feel ashamed of being that size.

I know that after she says “skinny bitches” she says that she is just playing, but that doesn’t make it okay to say those things. Bitches are bitches because of their personality. But that is a whole other argument–people can do bitchy things without being a bitch, and I don’t particularly like that word being used to describe a person as a whole. I can say a lot of bitchy things, but that does not define me.

More than the song, though, is some of the things Meghan has said in interviews and whatnot.

First, was the article where she said she was not “strong enough to have an eating disorder.” I think that is a wildly uneducated thing for someone to say, implying that it is by choice and not a mental disorder. I mean, it is great that she never suffered, but you can’t just “go anorexic” like she said. Sure, you can make the choice to stop eating, but your body with make you feel all sorts of things to get you to eat; it is your mental illness that is the reason for ignoring those hunger cues.

Finally putting my disordered thoughts aside and beginning to listen to my hunger cues again was a big part of my recovery. It wasn’t as easy as eating celery for a few hours and then eating a sandwich. And saying you are not “strong” enough to have an eating disorder is a grossly terrible comment to make. People with EDs are not strong–and they are not weak, either–they are disordered. Obviously, because of the name.

In another article that I read not long, she explained why she did not think she would become famous. She said it was because she wasn’t skinny or crazy beautiful. The reason she felt she was able to break into the industry was because of people like Adele and Lorde, who are “normal.” Yes, many musicians and actors are thin and beautiful, but even the ones who aren’t thin are beautiful. Is she saying that Lorde isn’t pretty? What about Adele? They are all talented, beautiful people.

And you know, I am not saying that Meghan Trainor is all in the wrong here. I have read interviews where she says some good things. I do believe her when she says she was bullied and insecure. What I disagree with is a few of the ways she went about talking about it.

There are a lot of people who will say that skinny-shaming is not a thing because the majority of body-image bullying is towards bigger people. I agree that bigger people get more of the flak, but it is all body-shaming. Body-shaming is bad whether it is towards skinny people, fat people, pear-shaped people, really muscle-y people, hourglass-shaped people, and so on. I will repeat this: body-shaming is bad.

It is important to remember that what a person looks like does not determine who they are. We need to support one another, not tear each other down. I know that this post may seem like I am trying to tear down Meghan Trainor, but that is not true. I am just giving my opinion about a woman and her lyric choices. I am proud that she has overcome bullying and has come back stronger, but I do not agree with some of the things she says.

Sure, you may find me singing along to some her songs if I hear them, but that is because she is talented and has catchy songs. I am just really not all about that bass, to be honest.

-A


Love me!

 

One thought on “So Not All About that Bass

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

