Secret – PLR Episode 8

Hiya.

IMG_5185

Pretty Little Roomies – Episode 8

“And I almost just took the golf clubs and charged at them. They wouldn’t have known what hit them, and we all would have gotten away scot-free,” Brad said, taking a swing of his Coke.

Nina replied, “I think you would have been thrown out of housing. Not kicked out, physically thrown out.”

Megan nodded in agreement, then took a bite of her sandwich. The three of them, plus Johnny, were sitting at a table in the sandwich shop on campus. Brad was relating to them what he saw through the cracks in the pantry doors Saturday night while Antonio was getting written up.

“I still think I had the best hiding spot. It was the most dangerous. I could have been caught any second! Boy, that was a rush.”

Johnny put in, “Well, what if they had walked into the bathroom and seen Shannon and me standing in the shower? That would have taken some explaining.”

“I think the alcohol was the first thing on their minds, not our hiding places,” Megan said. “But what do I know? I jumped out the window.”

“That was pretty smart,” Johnny told her. “Of course, I would have had to leave my own apartment, so I probably wouldn’t have done it.”

“I would have!” Nina exclaimed. “You can’t do that in the dorms, so I would have jumped at the chance. Next time, I am totally calling dibs on that escape plan.”

They all ate their sandwiches and talked more about the when there would be a next time. Megan was about to head off to class with Brad, while Nina was returning to the dorms and Johnny the apartments, when Amanda came running up to their table.

 “Guys!! Come quick! Thomas is making this huge announcement in the Plaza!” she exclaimed.

Everyone grabbed their backpacks and followed Amanda out of the doors into the open Plaza, where Thomas, a boy on their floor, was standing on top of a platform. A small crowd had gathered. Marissa and Emily were already standing in the throng of people, and the others joined them.

“Hey, folks! Thomas here. A lot of you may not know me, but quite a few of you here do. That doesn’t matter much, though, because this is for everyone’s eyes and ears. I like to make live webcasts, and tonight I have some really big news. So tune in tonight at six o’clock tonight on my website, which you can find on the flyers I have posted all over campus. Thank you, everyone!”

“What is this about?” Marissa asked.

Emily and Amanda shrugged. Megan replied, “Beats me.”

“Do you guys watch his webcasts?” Brad wondered. “I have seen a couple.”

“I watch them all. He’s like my best friend, I have to be supportive,” Megan said. “They are pretty good. He brings up a lot of good topics.”

“I have seen a few, too,” Amanda added.

“Should we all watch together tonight?” Johnny suggested.

Nina said she had practice, and Emily had class, but the rest of them decided to meet in 25E, where they could watch it on the girls’ TV. Then Megan and Brad had to get to class, and Marissa joined them, only breaking away when they passed the building where her class was.

When Brad and Megan sat down in their desks, Brad said, “So, Dan?”

Megan rolled her eyes. “It’s not happening.”

“Oh, c’mon, he’s a cool guy. We all like him. Except maybe Johnny for a few minutes on Saturday when you guys beat him at BP.”

“I agree that he is a cool guy, but that ship has sailed.”

“Fine. But I still think you should hook up with more people then. Take a weekend and, like, make out with a bunch of people.”

She pursed her lips. “Maybe I will, Brad. But it would have to be after finals.”

“Deal. Nina could probably hook you up with some guy from the dorms. I’ll let her know you’re looking.”

It was too late to stop him; he already had his phone out and was texting his girlfriend. Megan decided she should just let it happen. She trusted Nina’s judgment. Plus, it wasn’t like it was all set in stone anyway.

But then she thought about Dan, and how he met Patrick over the weekend. Now that was bad. Sure, it was okay, but that was before he put two and two together and figured out that Patrick was not exactly allowed to date Emily. She swore him to secrecy.

“No, like, you cannot breathe a word of this to anyone. Not even me. This never happened, okay? Because if you say anything, I am going to act like I have no idea what you are talking about,” she had said.

“Okay, okay. My lips are sealed,” he replied. “But, damn, the apartments are more exciting than the dorms.”

And that was all they said on the subject.

Later that evening, the girls of 25E–minus Emily–and the boys of 29E gathered in the girls’ living room. Megan had her laptop plugged into the TV and opened the window to Thomas’ website. He was about to go live from two doors away.

Within a few minutes, his face was on the screen, and he was making an introduction. “Hey, guys! Thomas here and thanks for tuning in. I hope that a lot of you viewers are here because of the announcement I made in the Plaza earlier today. Some of you are regulars, and some of you probably have no idea what I am talking about. That is okay, though.

“I guess I should get straight to the point with this. I have a confession to make. For a while now, I have been struggling a lot with who I am. About a year or so ago, I started to figure out just who Thomas was and is. Ladies and gentlemen, I am gay.”

He went on to talk about how he came to this conclusion, and how he struggled with it for years. Everyone in the room was quiet. They all had considered it before, but no one knew for sure.

“Wow, that is really brave of him,” Amanda said. “Coming out like this.”

“Yeah, he wasn’t sure how he wanted to do it. He finally decided the webcast would be the best way,” Megan said. “It took him long enough to do it, though.”

Alexander gaped at her. “Wait, you knew?”

She shrugged. “Since Fall quarter.”

Everyone gaped at her now. “And you never said anything?” Antonio asked.

“Well, it’s not my secret to tell. I know I like gossip and all, but I can keep a secret.”

The rest of the group all nodded or shrugged in agreement. They all watched the rest of the webcast, then parted ways to do homework. Megan went to Thomas’ apartment instead because they were going to make tacos and guacamole.

“So how did I do?” he asked when she walked in the door.

Megan gave him a thumbs up. “Awesome! We all support you and are very proud of your decision.”

“Thanks, it definitely wasn’t easy, but I am glad I did it.”

“Now we can celebrate with Mexican food!”

Thomas threw his fist in the air. “I can’t think of a better way to celebrate. And Lilly is coming over, too.”

“Sweet!”

A few minutes later, when Thomas was chopping onions and cilantro to put in the guacamole, Lilly knocked. Megan let her in, and she praised Thomas’ bravery as well. She had known since Fall quarter, too. She put a package of giant tortillas on the counter for the tacos, and sat down with Megan at the table.

“So no more secrets, huh?”

Without missing a beat, Megan agreed. “At least, about this. I don’t expect anymore big reveals like this, though. Thomas, you are in the spotlight.”

“And I am enjoying it! I keep getting texts from people telling me how proud they are that I came out. Let’s hope this fifteen minutes of fame lasts for a lot more than fifteen minutes. I hope this means good things for my webcast.”

“Now that more people know about it, I think a lot more are going to tune in,” Lilly said.

Thomas poured glasses of apple cider, and they all clinked. Megan mixed the guacamole ingredients together, while Thomas grilled the meat Lilly chopped lettuce and tomatoes and any other things they wanted in their tacos.

They ate together happily, glad to take a break from intense studying. In the back of her mind, Megan only hoped Thomas’ fifteen minutes wouldn’t be overshadowed anytime soon by Patrick and Emily’s secret relationship.

Note to self, Megan thought, find out if I can actually refer to it as a relationship yet.


Look, even more new characters! I think it was about time that I introduced these two. I may or may not have a couple more up my sleeve. We will just see.

I am loving all the support I have gotten since I started writing this series! So thank you again for that ❤

On another writing note: I have less than one hundred pages to type until I am finished with the official second draft of my book! This is really exciting for me, and I can’t wait to move forward with this huge thing in my life. This is a massive step for me as a person and as a writer. I am thinking about throwing in another excerpt on the blog soon.

I also fixed the whole “the link to my Tumblr doesn’t work” thing. I think. I will keep trying it just in case, but let me know if there are any problems. I am thinking about doing a “Selfie of the Day” on my Tumblr again, just to be fun and dramatic.

Avengers: Age of Ultron comes out in two very short days!! I am peeing from excitement. Not really. Maybe. I just can’t wait for it! I want to watch all of the Marvel movies again, but that probably won’t happen before Friday. A girl can dream, right? Always.

I hope y’all have the most beautiful Wednesday! 🙂

-A


Love me!

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

