Paperback Writer

Hey, folks! Sorry, I have been MIA since Wednesday. Life has me busy, and I am trying to get a hold on everything. It is Week 9 of Spring Quarter, which means summer is so close I can almost touch it. I mean, getting straight to work (literally, the morning after I get back I am already on the job) will not be the best thing, but hey, a girl needs moolah.

This past weekend was a fun one, for sure. Gracie came up to visit and spend this glorious three-day weekend with me! It was so much fun hanging out with her. I dearly missed my Penny Lane. Her being here also gave me an excuse to go to Firestone for the first time! Firestone is a well-known barbecue place in SLO. In the whole time that I have been here, I have yet to dine there. Gracie coming gave me the perfect opportunity, and I have to say, it was so good.

IMG_5579

Gracie is a future show creator and writer; she comes up with such great storylines. As a writer myself, I can tell you that when two super creative minds come together, magical conversations happen. She told me about her ideas, and I gave her mine. It gave me so much inspiration, and I can’t wait to be able to get back to writing all the time this summer. With finals actually right around the corner, I haven’t been able to put enough of myself into my writing. That is also an explantation for my MIA-on-the-blog status. Pretty Little Roomies was my last creative writing stint until summer, at least. Then I have Book #2, PLR Season 2, and a bunch of WriteWorld prompts coming your way.

In other news, I have finally finished Lost! The feeling is so good. That show is so good. Damn, I love when shows come full circle like that one did. I give major props to the writers and creators of it. And the actors and directors and everyone who worked on it.

Hanging out with Gracie also allowed me to watch and hear about some great movies and TV shows. We rented a movie called Love, Rosie from RedBox, starring Lily Collins and Sam Claflin. I adore Lily Collins, but Sam Claflin is one of the loves of my life. I was majorly fangirling the entire movie. I have to say, it was a wonderful film with great actors and a fantastically hooking storyline. I do love a good Rom Com. And I would love to read the book it was based off of. I highly recommend it.

We had a great talk one morning about movies and TV shows and books. Ones we have seen, ones being made, and ones that are still in the thought stages. None of my friends here really have that creativity I crave so much, so I loved being able to talk to someone about it. I just love making up storylines and characters and reading and watching good movies. So many people think I just watch Netflix all the time because I am lazy and addicted. While part of that is true, I am just feeding my creative mind and putting ideas into my index. Books are so good for the soul.

They should totally make a Chicken Soup for the Writer’s Soul and have it just be full of prompts, and blurbs. Maybe some short stories too. And sort them by genre or something. Wait, that is actually awesome. I want that. I REALLY WANT THAT.

Now I am back to homework, readings, and Supernatural marathons when I’m not in the library. And I will be in the library quite often this week. Hopefully, I will be able to find a spot in there without going up too many floors. And hopefully, I will be able to focus on my studies, rather than everything I want to be writing. Maybe my conversations with Gracie were good for letting off my creative steam, enough to get my through the next few weeks.

So just checking in with y’all, letting you know where my head is at. I will probably be MIA a lot in these next few weeks, but it’s not for lack of effort. I just wish that I was enjoying a barbecue with my family and the sun, celebrating our troops on Memorial Day, instead of studying.

Thank you to our troops, and God bless America!! ❤

And happy birthday to my dad! 🙂

-A


Love me!

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

