Right Now #6

Now that I am beginning my third week of summer and being back in the Burbs, it is finally time for another one of these. It has been quite a while since my last all-things-life update.

Oh, yeah, and MY BLOG TURNS ONE NEXT WEEKBut more on that later. Now, let’s see what I am up to right about now.

What am I reading?

At the moment, I am reading Emma by Jane Austen, who is one of my favorite authors. She has a way of writing love stories that makes me fall in love with love. This particular novel is what Clueless, one of my favorite movies, is based on. I am already in love with the characters, so reading the book makes me even crazier about them. I love that I get a more in-depth description about them, as well, which allows me to understand them all better.

IMG_5670

Basically, I cannot get enough of 1800s romance novels. Sue me.

What TV Show am I watching?

This one changes constantly. I am currently watching Charmed for about the ten billionth time. It is a show about three witches who are sisters, and they are the most powerful witches the world has ever seen. Basically, I wish I was Alyssa Milano. Always. I have made it into Season 4, which is one of my favorites. It is where a fourth sister, a half-sister, is introduced because one of the original sisters dies. It is a great show, and I would highly recommend it if you love 90s to 00s TV shows with badass women leads.

Another show that has just premiered on ABC is Astronaut Wives Club, and I can tell you I am already obsessed. It takes place in the sixties during the great space race. The husbands are attractive, and the wives are full of secrets. So. Much. Drama. Already. There is nothing like a show about a scandalous couple in the public eye, but seven couples in the sixties? Sign me up!!

Plus, one of the husbands is Jack Bass from Gossip Girl so I was hooked before the show even hit the air.

What color are my nails?

Newly painted pink!! I can totally recycle a pink from both #3 and #4 “Right Now” posts, but I won’t. It is the same cute color! I just did them, too. Previously, I painted them during finals week a pretty light blue and managed to draw suns on my ring fingers. I was just so ready for summer, and the day was cloudy. But I did not have any top coat, so they chipped almost immediately. Now they are perfect!

IMG_5750

However, they will change within the next few weeks because I want to plan a girls’ trip to the salon to get all our nails done before our big vacation.

What is my current obsession?

Weirdly enough, I have been on a huge spinach kick. Before a few months ago, I loathed the leaf, but now I cannot get enough! I keep making salads to bring to work, or I have them for dinner. Actually, I put it on everything: cheese and crackers, eggs and toast…the list goes on. I do not know why, but I crave it all the time. Is that so strange or what? Never before have I had a nonstop craving for a vegetable, but hey, there is a first for everything.

Wow, I have become my childhood worst nightmare…

Who is my current girl crush?

As I said before, probably Alyssa Milano. She is beautiful and talented and awesome and did I say beautiful? GORGEOUS WOMAN ALERT. Basically, person goals right now.

Alyssa Milano as Phoebe Halliwell in CHARMED TV Series - dvdbash.wordpress.com

And she was the inspiration for Ariel’s look in The Little Mermaid. I mean, that is so cool! One day I would love to meet her.

What am I wearing?

Work clothes. Always. That means bright orange shirts and yoga pants or workout shorts. And a sports bra. When I get home, I just take off the shirt and hang out in my bra and shorts. It is so relieving.

Photo on 6-29-15 at 6.32 PM #2

I am not complaining about my “uniform” because it beats wearing a real bra, to be honest. I mean, I adore my bras. Victoria’s Secret is my weakness, after all, but I do love lazy-wear. And I just bought two new pairs of workout/yoga pants from Target and I absolutely adore them. Seriously, they are so, so comfy, and they make my butt look good.

What is something this week that I am looking forward to?

The Fourth of July is this weekend (for those of you non-Americans, that means it is Independence Day), and I love a good pool party/barbecue combo to celebrate winning our independence from Britain. Even though I am dying to study there…Hey, it has been a while, I think we are all basically over it.

But I am so pumped to hang out with Stephanie and eat great food. I would say party, but honestly, have you read through any of my posts at all? “Party” is not the word most people would use to describe my get togethers. I would use that word, though. A party implies fun, and I love fun.

What am I listening to?

A little bit of everything, really. Country when I am with my mom, the radio in my car, rock with my dad, etc. There is not anything really in particular that I am obsessing over right now.

However, I do want to buy Hilary Duff’s newest album because, hello, Hilary Duff.

But that is music-wise. I have been listening to a lot of screaming children, exploding demons (thank you, Charmed), the sound of the treadmill going about two miles per hour…just the sounds of the world. Nothing too special. I definitely wish I was listening to music because it gives me so much peace.

What make up am I wearing?

Nothing. And I mean that. There really is no point to wear any at work because I get sweaty and gross and I have nobody to impress. It is so much less maintenance to worry about. And I can rub the crap out of my eyes. If you had said to me a few months ago that I would be going make up free this often, I probably wouldn’t believe you. I love it though, even though I kind of look like a child.

But I do still love doing my make up, so when I go out with my friends or my family, and even to my brother’s baseball games, I go with my usual Clinique foundation, Covergirl mascara, and Covergirl eyeliner. Cue “These are a Few of my Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music.

What is a bad habit I need to kick?

Probably everything. Not cleaning my room, mostly. There are still many things that need to be unpacked or moved around. I am also struggling to get rid of clothes. I want to get a bunch of new ones, but I have zero space in my dresser. The only thing is is that most of them are concert t-shirts and work shirts. I cannot get rid of my concert shirts because I love them and they hold great memories and they are comfy. The work shirts I need because, well, I work.

Why am I such a hoarder?? There are so many things I need to throw out, but I cannot muster the courage to follow through. HELP.

Oh, and procrastinating on Pretty Little Roomies.

What is one thing I am really happy about?

As mentioned above, my blog is turning one next week!! I cannot believe that I have had this blog for that long already, and that people have stuck around to keep reading it. I love this blog so much, and I love my readers so much. Writing A Heart Wide Open has been such a learning and growing experience for me, and I am still doing both of those things. I am happy that you have all been on this journey with me, and I hope you all will stay for the future of A Heart Wide Open. I will keep this blog going for as long as I possibly can.

Writing makes me happy. Duh.


Yay for life updates!! Stay tuned for more, obviously. I cannot wait to see where the rest of this summer takes me (and us), from Burbank to Florida to the Caribbean to (hopefully) San Luis Obispo. I definitely want to visit over the summer and soak up some Avila Beach sun! I spy some hiking in the near future soon, too.

As always, thanks for sticking by me.

❤ A


Love me!

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

