All American Girl

In case you were wondering, yes, I did buy an American flag bathing suit for this wonderful holiday. Of course, I will wear it elsewhere, but how could I not own a bikini with the stars and stripes on it? You could argue that the “basic” teenage girl in me needed it. I guess I can only make that excuse for one more month, but that just means I will use the crap out of it until then!

The Fourth of July means nothing to millions of people around the world. It is just another day, like January 10th. But for the United States, July 4th marks the anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence. Thomas Jefferson’s document, declaring our freedom from England is among the most important aspects to our culture. Even though the war did not end for another seven years, the Declaration stands for everything we strive for as a country. Well, in theory.

IMG_7586

Most people use this day as an excuse to buy a red, white, and blue swimsuit, drink beer, and barbecue. While those have become great traditions in our country, we must remember what we were built on. If you have never read the document, I recommend it! Like Nicholas Cage says in the first National Treasure as he reads from it, nobody talks like that anymore. I love the language used at that time. But that might just be the English Major in me speaking.

While this document did not give us our freedom or create a solid government (looking at you, Articles of Confederation), it did show the set of principles that we, as Americans, stand by. We were just “United Colonies” back then. Look at us now. I mean, I am not saying that we are a perfect country. We have done a lot that I prefer not to think about, and most of the time I am disappointed in some of the people we have created, but our little collection of colonies (with some help) defeated Britain and their high horse.

Hey, though, I love Britain, and I will leap at the opportunity to explore those countries, but I am proud to be American. Our nation needs some cleaning up, and has some major work to do, but we are still a fairly new country. We do not realize it now, but one day, our kids are going to read about 2015 in their history books, and things are going to be so different in their world. I mean, could you imagine if slavery still existed? We look back and are ashamed, but back then, it was totally normal (for a while, at least). Children are going to read about us and wonder why it took us so long to legalize same-sex marriage.

FullSizeRender.jpg-1

But we are working to improve, and that is what matters. Progress is important, but we cannot forget history, as it is our story. We have some work to do, of course, but I am still so proud to call myself an American living in a country where I have so many opportunities to succeed.

But pool parties and barbecues are great for celebrating those opportunities, am I right? And fireworks. I can never forget about the fireworks. I get chills and goosebumps every time I watch the show. It is just so beautiful!


I hope you all had a wonderful day, whatever country you live in/are from!

I would also just like to give a shout out to my wonderful built-in best friend Edie ❤ It is her birthday today, and I cannot wait to see her after work and have a fancy dinner together. Gracie will be there, too, obviously. The trio is now all nineteen! At least, for another month.

Edie, I am so blessed to have you as my lifelong best friend, and I cannot wait for the rest of our lives. You have always been the jelly to my peanut butter sandwich. For a very long time, nobody understood how boy crazy–and just crazy–I am, except you. You have been there for me through so much, and I am always laughing when we are together. You are a shining light in my life, and I love you more than I can say. ❤

IMG_3375

We have come quite a ways since last 4th of July, haven’t we?

So much happiness on this day!! 🙂

BOOK 1 UPDATE: Draft 2 is now finished (EEEEEEEP!!). It is about 350 pages long and about 87,000 words. I am beyond stoked for this. Next steps are more revision and researching self-publishing. Oh my gosh, I just cannot believe I actually wrote a book. Like I said, this is the land of opportunity.

And I lied about my blog turning one this week. My blog-iversary is not until the 23rd, when I will be on vacation. However, it is still so exciting!!

-A


Love me!

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

