Love You Like That

Do you ever hear a song on the radio in the car and want to pull over so you can rock out in your seat and not have to worry about the road? I had one of those moments today. Actually they happen every day, but this time I was about to pull into my driveway, so I got to do the whole “rock out” thing.

The song was “Love You Like That” by Canaan Smith. I adore country music, and a few years ago, when I went to Las Vegas for the Academy of Country Music Awards, he performed at the expo at the Mandalay Bay Hotel, which I was staying at. I met him, and he is the sweetest. He signed a picture for us and gave us a little CD and took a picture with me.

I am so happy that he is getting recognition and that his song plays on the radio all the time. If you have yet to hear it, I suggest you give it a listen. Even if you hate country music. Just do it. Please.

Listening to the radio in my car, and wanting to stop to just listen and sing along, brings me so much joy. I often forget how much of an impact music has had on my life, and I love it when I am reminded of it. I love looking back at old songs that I have written or when I come up with a melody and a few lyrics to go with it. I used to get so frustrated whenever I could only write a verse or a bridge, but now I just see it as a work in progress. I do not have to finish it. I just write it down and use it as inspiration for a poem or to spark a short story out of me.

And sometimes it does become a song! 🙂

Music is such a big part of my life. Just listening calms me down. Or pumps me up. I use any excuse I can to put my headphones in and lose myself in a song. A couple of things that are getting me right now:

  • Radio: Country
  • iTunes: Um, everything.
  • Spotify: Pop Punk?Alt. Metal (do not judge, just listen)
  • Pandora: BEATLES ❤

MUSIC IS SO FUN.

Recommendations? I’ve got ’em, and I’d love to hear ’em.

-A


Love me!

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

