Message in a Bottle

So lately, I have been looking back on the blog and everything I started, but have stopped doing along the way. One thing I really liked doing was the “Question of the Day.” I thought it was a fun way to make me think outside the box. I went back to the website I originally used, and it does not seem to be around anymore. I did not stop there, though, I went off and easily found a different site with countless of questions! Some good, some not so good, but one I really liked.

So I am bringing this back, at least, for now.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three books and three people would you take with you? Why?

I mean, this one concerns books, so there should be no surprise why I chose it.

Deciding on only three books to take with me is definitely difficult, but there is zero point in listing off all the ones I could bring along. Of the ones I have finished in my lifetime–and there have been many–my top three are:

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot – Meg Cabot has always been one of my favorite authors. I adore the way she can take an “outcast” and make them great. It does not mean the character becomes popular or anything like that, they simply realize the potential they have and grow upon themselves to be better people. I have always been the outsider, and I still continue to have that role. Having this book in particular will help me remember why I am awesome and why the term “popular” is only relative.

The Ghost of Blackwood Hall by Carolyn Keene – Nancy Drew is one of my heroes, and I say that with the utmost pride. I loved those books before I could even read! I first received one as a gift, and every day I would “read” it, telling a new story. One day, I decided to find out what those words really meant, and I fell in love immediately. One of my aunts had every book in the series as a young girl and fully supported my love. And fueled it like mad. For one of my birthdays, she gave me this novel, and wrote me a note inside the cover, telling me it was her favorite. From that day forward, it was mine, too. I read it several times a year, just to remind me how much the young sleuth changed my life.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hossieni – This book was on my reading list in my AP English class senior year. I did not plan on reading it originally, but we already had a copy from when my sister took the class a few years before. A friend of mine had started it in her class, and already loved it, so I decided to give it a try. I was hooked from the beginning. Hosseini told the beautiful story of family and friendships tested by war and violence. The details make it so real. I felt the cold of the winter and the heat of the summer and the wind that took the kites to the sky…I am all but forcing my brother to read it this summer. If there was one book I read in school that has stuck in my mind, it is definitely this one.

Okay, now which people would I take with me…this one might be tougher.

Gracie Roebuck – Honestly, there is no one else that can make me nearly pee of laughter, then flip the switch and have a deep conversation about writing with me. She fills two of my favorite topics without even having to try. I mean, I called her on her birthday last year and cried on the phone because I missed her voice. It had barely been two months since I had seen her. That is friendship right there.

Natalie Binkley – Best friend. Duh. Does this even need explaining??

Chris Evans – Because I am going to need some eye candy on this deserted island, and you know it will be hot enough for him to be shirtless. It is a given, basically.

So maybe that last part wasn’t so hard…I was just over-thinking it, I am sure.


I love answering questions like this. It may not have seemed so, but I did give each of these a lot of thought. I mean, it took a lot of thought to narrow it down. Edie, if you are reading this, you were next, I swear. I just think that if you were there we would spend the entire time laughing about literally nothing and then die because we wouldn’t know how to survive.

So what about you guys? Who would you bring and what books would you take?

-Ash


Love me!

2 thoughts on “Message in a Bottle

  1. I watched The Kite Runner! I can see why you would want to have the book with you 🙂 I’ve been meaning to read the book too, but I just haven’t gotten around to it 😦 Also, Chris Evans? Yaaaaas. So much yes 😉

    The three books I would bring would have to be: Soulmates by Miranda Glover, Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult, and The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons. They’re all such lovely books and I am obsessed. As for people, I would probably bring my best friend, my best blog friend, and someone really attractive like the Marc Fitt guy (https://instagram.com/marc_fitt/) I swear I would never get sick of looking at his face hahaha. Drool 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am totally adding those books to my list! I have not seen the Kite Runner movie yet, though. I am afraid I might be let down by it 😦
      But that guy is super attractive!! *insert heart eye emoji*

      Like

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

