Funky New Year

Welcome to the new year!! Ah, early January–it is the time of the “New Year, New Me” mantra, jam-packed gyms, new friendships, ending old ones, and making random changes to your personality/appearance/etc that we all know you will change back whether you notice it or not.

Of course, this is not always true. Sometimes people do complete their resolutions. Some people keep the same friends for their lifetime because they picked good ones. And some people, like me, will avoid the gym. But I am only going to avoid it (and work out on my own) until everyone gives up on their “get in shape” resolution, when I will be able to find a free elliptical or treadmill.

To be honest, as much as I wanted to, I did not come up with a set list of New Year’s Resolutions. The things I came up with came with an air of being loopholes to recovery, things I am already doing, or things I know I will not accomplish because they would change who I am.

I guess I have decided that my resolution can come down to this:

Continue learning and growing as a person.

Because that is what each new year boils down to for me. And not only that, it is what I strive for each new day, not just year. Because if you think of it in terms of goals for each day, then it becomes easier to accomplish than setting the goal for the new year and then forgetting about it or giving up after a few weeks. It makes it more of a lifestyle resolution than just one for the new year.

I have realized that when I set New Year’s Resolutions, I often forget about them give up on them, or change them, which is why I do not set them. Yes, I think a new year calls for some rethinking of who I am and who I have become, but it does not necessarily mean I have to change anything.

I have given up fast food, for the most part. I have dedicated myself to fighting off Bad Thoughts and filling that space with Good ones. I have been experiencing more things and getting a little out of my comfort zone. Those are all lifestyle changes that I didn’t need to remind myself were resolutions because they were things I have been working on for a long time. Saying them held me accountable, and that is what helped me accomplish those things. They were not drastic changes, though, like many people set for themselves. They were things that I was already working towards.

I am not changing who I am because I like who I am. But I want to keep growing and learning. That, I think is key for keeping a resolution. Don’t drastically change yourself because that will not necessarily be easy or a good thing. Continuing to work towards a goal, and taking it one day at a time, makes for a much better “resolution.”

But don’t let me tell you what to do. This is just, what I have noticed, is better for me. By all means, if you can do it, go for that drastic change! I wish you the best of luck, and I will cheer you on the whole way.

So here’s to a new year. Do great things!

-Ash

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

